Dear Ikea


Dear Ikea,

It has got to the point that I consider a trip to you to be a “grand day out” (is this normal in the +30 age demographic?). We always begin such a grand day with a meal in the “restaurant” which let’s face it is a canteen. Today I had my usual of a bread roll and a bowl of chips but I eschewed my usual Daim cake in favour of the “Swedish Trio” (in my mind a Swedish Trio is ALOT more fun). Hmm not sure I will be so adventurous again- a bakewell tart thing with no jam is an affront to a British town- these are strange Swedish jamless ways. The peculiar green marzipan rum tasting thing was ok (being recently deprived of alcohol for 9months means anything with a hint gets my vote), but the coffee coconut snowball thing- bleugh. No just no.

Anyhow have to say I love the fact you had a nursing room in the restaurant. I’m not that fussed about breastfeeding in public so didn’t use it but bravo for you creating the space.

I love how child friendly you are, with all the kiddy food stations with free bibs etc. &the loo’s with potties etc. I suppose you officially know you are a grown up when you like these things AND are the proud owner of an Ikea family card (which gets you a free coffee- bonus!)

Of course I came away with more than I went in (but no tealights- one must draw the line somewhere) and even managed to get a replacement part for our shoerack which has gone wonky. So I just thought you might want to know what a nice day out we had in your huge blue corrugated iron building, we’ll come again soon.

Cheers

LadyCurd

4 responses to “Dear Ikea

  1. biscuitsarenothealthybutwhocares

    I used to love IKEA now they have stopped selling little daim bars I now only like the place. Did Oddler go in the creche?

    • Oddler was at nursery. Next time we will try the crèche if she is with us. Oooh another trip to look forward too- yay! I love those mini Daims have they really stopped them? &those anna thins biscuits especially the Ginger ones. In fact might have to go back for some this week!

  2. francespringle

    Love ikea! love it! And the nursing room- brilliant! But it is in fact probably more discreet doing it at table, than announcing to whole restaurant your going to breast feed by entering the “designated space” but still gotta love the for the thought!

    • Yeah – there wasn’t really a table there to eat at and I was with a non-breastfeeding friend so would have seemed antisocial, but I having spaces like that is good- although it would be better if breastfeeding was just normalised and okay to do anywhere.

Leave a Reply

