Dear NHS


Dear NHS,

Thought you deserved a bit of a love letter. I love you. I didn’t realise how much until recently.

Previously I wasn’t sure, I mean you were just there, giving me dental checkups and the odd prescription, I didn’t really care and to be fair some of your issues did contribute to my first daughters traumatic birth. (However they were small and circumstance was a bigger factor and the time she spent on NICU receiving top quality care after her birth was amazing).

More recently being pregnant with my second daughter I have become totally in awe of your power and the sheer awesomeness of so many people who work for you. You didn’t have to agree an elective section because I had PTSD and tokophobia from my first birth, you didn’t have to send me on an intensive course of CBT and EMDR to help my sort my traumatised brain out. My consultant, the midwives and head of the delivery suite didn’t have to make loads of extra appointments with me to support me & plan my second birth. But you did all of this and as a result I felt able to try for a vaginal birth again and had the most wonderful 3hour labour on gas &air only birthing my second daughter. Your staff put my brain back together, helped me heal mentally and physically and thanks to you I can truly say I am better and the ghosts of the first birth have finally been put to bed. I really think the NHS have gone above and beyond for me and I never expected the level of care or treatment I got so I am truly in awe of your power and I will be forever grateful.

Thank-you from the bottom of my heart.

LadyCurd

P.S saving my life when I had an ectopic pregnancy was also rather good of you- so cheers for that too!

One response to “Dear NHS

  1. Pingback: Dear Midwife | Letters From LadyCurd

Leave a Reply

